Bits and Pieces

Have you ever suddenly remembered some random thing that happened a long time ago? It’s rarely a full memory, just an instant, but it is enough. This happens to me frequently. There is one memory though that, once it came back, never left me.

It’s a memory of when I decided that I was an atheist, though I was too young to even understand what that was.

I was in a car moving quickly down a winding highway in the woods somewhere, I can’t recall where. I was maybe five or six years old. Tall trees flashed quickly by the window, the light filtering green down through their leaves gave them a magical air. I think it was something about the trees that triggered it. I remember thinking very specifically “is there really such a thing as God?” I was so young, and most people don’t believe that it’s possible that I even considered such a thing so young. Even I doubt it sometimes, but it’s one of those things that I know is true. And I remember exactly what my young mind said in reply to it’s own question.

“No.”

~ by Rckrgrl on January 16, 2010.

4 Responses to “Bits and Pieces”

  1. 1) Did you write all of these posts today and post them or did you have them stored somewhere?
    2) It’s very impressive that you were pondering religion at such a young age. Were you raised religiously and rebelled?

    • 1) I had a Blogger account, but I didn’t really care for the interface at all. So I moved them all over to this one 🙂
      2) I was not raised religiously, nor was I raised an atheist. In fact, I’m still not sure what my dad believes, and my mom is agnostic and doesn’t talk about it too frequently.

  2. Sounds kind of like me… I celebrated Christmas and Chanuka but was never ever religious as my mom wanted me to make a decision when I knew more about religion.

    WordPress is the beset blogging system. Glad you saw the light

Leave a Reply

 
