Judgement

Humans are highly judgmental creatures. We judge based on beliefs, values, appearances and dialects. There is an old saying, “don’t judge a book by its cover.” I disagree. Do not judge a book by its cover or by what is written in its pages but by what is written between the lines. That is what truly defines people: that which you do not see in or hear directly from them.

Many people do in fact ‘judge the book by its cover’ and by the words written on its pages. As an atheist, I am quite familiar with this judgment. No one has ever stopped to ask me why I believe what I do or why I feel the way I do about certain things. They simply see what I am and try to avoid me. I am not a threat to them but they see me as such, simply because they see the words on the pages and not the messages that lay between.

It is not religion that causes wars, it is judgment. Because Europe judged that the colonists living in America were stupid and would do whatever they were told, the colonists revolted. Because men were judged by the color of their skin, a Civil War was started in the United States. In countries all over the world, wars are started because one group makes a judgment that the other group’s beliefs are wrong. It is not religion that causes wars, it is judgment.

If we as a species can learn to be less judgmental of those around us, perhaps war would be less of an issue. Perhaps this problem could be solved but only if we work together to solve it. We are too judgmental to simply stop judging others and so I predict that this shall never come to pass. Humans are not as sheep; we will only work together if we want to and the truth is that we do not truly want to work together, to stop something a hideous as war.

~ by Rckrgrl on January 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
