An Interesting Quote

I was recently reading the book The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown. As I was reading, I came across a very interesting section. It reads:

“Langdon feigned a sad sigh. ‘Too bad. If that’s too freaky for you, then I know you’ll never want to join my cult.’ Silence settled over the room. The student from the Women’s Center looked uneasy. ‘You’re in a cult?’ Langdon nodded and lowered his voice to a conspiratorialy whisper. ‘Don’t tell anyone, but on the pagan day of the sun god Ra, I kneel at the foot of an ancient instrument of torture and consume ritualistic symbols of blood and flesh.’ The class looked horrified. Langdon shrugged. ‘And if any of you care to join me, come to the Harvard chapel on Sunday, kneel beneath the crucifix, and take Holy Communion.’ The classroom remained silent. Langdon winked. ‘Open your minds, my friends. We all fear what we do not understand.'”

Of course, what Langdon is saying is technically correct, but is not viewed in such a way by Christians. As he says, we all fear what we do not understand. Hence, religious persecution. It is human nature to lash out at what we fear, what we do not comprehend. Perhaps if everyone in the world could open their eyes and see their beliefs and values the way others might see them, there would be less hatred in the world. But that’s just a theory.

As an example, I will step back and “view my views.” As an atheist, I don’t agree with the common notion among many religions that there is a life after death in a ‘Heaven’ type scenario or a ‘Hell’ type scenario. I agree that this seems depressing. Also, I believe in the study of medicine to help heal the infirm. In order to make progress, disections may be performed, drugs may be tested on people, etc. Some people could interpret this as a form of torture.

So… do not see things the way you see them. See them the way others do. Then you might just be able to understand their reactions.

~ by Rckrgrl on January 19, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
