The State of My Friends Address

Sorry for not posting for a couple of days. I’ve been sick all week.

I’m very disappointed in all of my friends at school who claim they keep up with politics; only one of them actually watched the State of the Union address last night. This means that they will all be basing their information on quotes taken out of context, will take them even further out of context, and proceed to look like idiots. Young people shouldn’t be ignorant to the world around them; in fact, they should be paying even more attention to it. Plus, many of my friends who didn’t watch the Address are Republicans who often accuse me of not doing my research, and are now going to be bigger hypocrites than they already were. Lovely. And of course some of them are highly irrational, and it is impossible to reason with irrationality, which is why I try not to participate in debates anymore. It’s just not worth it.

I wish there were more people living here that actually agreed with me when it comes to politics and religion. It’s frustratingly isolating, and it grows harder and more grating to defend myself with each passing day. “If only if only the woodpecker sighs…”

~ by Rckrgrl on January 28, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
