How Rude

So I got my copy of On the Origin of Species by Charles Darwin in the mail a few days back, and have been bringing it to school so that I can read it during my down time. The first day I got several responses. One friend asked to borrow it when I was done reading it, while another asked if I was “actually reading that crap.” The next day the same person that said it was crap sat down next to me, pointed at the book and said “that’s such bs.” Yet another person began arguing about how we couldn’t possibly have come from monkeys; annoying, but it was certainly fun to argue with him. Plus, his girlfriend backed me up. So, to the people that are being mean about me reading this book…

A) I don’t nonchalantly inform people that their beliefs are “bs.” I do my best to be respectful of other people; maybe you should try it sometime.

B) I don’t really care if you don’t believe it, I do.

C) No, we did not evolve from monkeys. If you’re going to argue evolution, at least know what it is.

D) And lastly, in the words of Stephanie Tanner… How rude!

~ by Rckrgrl on February 24, 2010.

5 Responses to “How Rude”

  1. you should read ‘the ancestors tale’ by dawkins. you’ll be going round singing “we are fa-mi-ly!” all week long.

    well, that’s what i did…

  2. you should read ‘the ancestor’s tale’ by dawkins. it’ll have you singing “we are fa-mi-ly” all week long. i just love the fact that every living being from the dogs to the rats to the bugs and the bats are your cousins!

  3. do you ever get that feeling of deja vu?

  4. hahaha, same thing happened to me when i brought God Delusion to school. but u know, when i brought C.S. Lewis’ Mere Christianity more than one person asked to borrow it when i was done, and one person said “oh, i just love C.S. Lewis even more now”…

  5. Interesting, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

 
