Tumor

I picked up my pet rat to play with her today and discovered a tumor that is nearly the size of a ping-pong ball attached to her leg. It’s difficult to watch her walk and play with her cage mate. And the worst part is that my dad refuses to take small animals to the vet because of the cost. I feel so awful that I can’t do anything for my poor little rat. I don’t think I’ll be keeping any more rats after this… I need to be able to take care of them if they get sick. I’ve been trying to find ways that I can keep her comfortable, but I haven’t found anything, though I did find something that said the tumor would only keep growing until it is the same size as her.

I just feel so helpless and cruel.

~ by Rckrgrl on March 13, 2010.

One Response to “Tumor”

  1. A pet is a pet. How much would the vet bill be? Most veterinarians can set up a payment plan. And, I hate to say this, if the tumor is malignantly cancerous the vet would probably euthanize her free of charge (our vet would) if you don’t have the money to pay. I know that’s sad to think about, but what’s worse is her suffering through something so terrible as cancer.

    I’m sorry for yours and hers predicament. If it were me I would talk to my veterinarian about payment options rather than let her health decline. I hate to see (or even hear about) animals suffering. It’s why I’m vegan, actually.

Leave a Reply

 
