How do you deal?

My mom has a point. Being so vocal about my atheism makes people judge me before they even know me… or re-evaluate their initial judgments. I don’t want to be known as “the atheist democrat.” I want to be known as me, not as a stereotype. This is a problem that many (if not most) open atheists face, and I sincerely wish it weren’t. Unfortunately, I see no other solutions than to hide who I am… which I am most certainly not going to do. What would be the point in that?

I guess I’m curious to know how other people deal with it. Do you just deal with it and say that the people who are mean about it wouldn’t really have been your friends anyway? Do you get defensive? Offensive? Passive? I want to avoid conflicts, but I know that is just a tad bit optimistic. I’m really good friends with a lot of religious and church-going people that are really nice about it, and that’s just fine until someone comes along that isn’t. Sometimes I’m afraid of them.

So now I ask anyone that actually reads this (which I kind of doubt) what you do to deal with stereotypes and prejudices. I really would like to know.

~ by Rckrgrl on March 28, 2010.

4 Responses to “How do you deal?”

  1. i ignore it. you want to judge me, that’s on you. all you can do is your best not to stereotype other people yourself. but then can you honestly say you’ve never pre-judged a monotheist? christ, i know i have!

  2. *chuckle* This is true, and I’ve really been working on that. I guess I understand why they do it, then.

  3. I really enjoy your Blog girlie. Although I don’t agree with everything you say, I think that most times you make alot of sense (I’m pretty sure we have had this convo before…lunch maybe ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) I wonder if sometimes when you are vocal about your beliefs if it intimidates people? Many people (I think) are very conflicted on what they believe, and when confronted with someone who is very sure of and confident in their beliefs, are kinda scared. Alot of peoples best defense against fear is; retaliation and loud voices ๐Ÿ˜‰

    can you guess who I mean? lol
    anywho i pretty much just realized you had a blog so I’m super excited lol
    ~tee~

  4. I’ve heard that from a lot of people about my being so vocal when it comes to this kind of thing, and I think you’re right. And yeah, I’m pretty sure I know who you mean ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
