Short Story Contest

I currently feel content and restless at the same time… is that contradictory? Possibly.

It’s one of those nights where I will probably be up very late writing- either that or I’ll be asleep by nine thirty, though the former is much more likely. I’m planning on entering a short story writing contest and I really need to get working on my entry. I have a plot and everything, and I’ve done what I call the “time test” (where I wait a couple of weeks to see if the plot idea sticks and/or alters at all) and it is definitely here to stay.

I’m concerned that my age and inexperience will be my downfall in the end. It is an amateur contest, but I’m sure most of the people entering are about twice my age and have been writing for much longer than I have, not to mention having the random bits of knowledge collected over a lifetime that make a story that much more realistic. I’m going for it anyway, because if you really think about it what harm can come of it? I’m just really, really nervous. Now to see how accurately I can portray the vivid images in my head with nothing but words.

~ by Rckrgrl on April 9, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
