Teaching the Teacher

Today I was looking at the Declaration of Independence and noticed (as I have in the past) that the first line reads “Creator” and not “God.” Intrigued, I mentioned it to my English teacher. She explained saying that at the time people had come here to escape religious persecution, but you still had to believe in a god. So they used the term “Creator” because it was ‘okay to believe in any god, as long as you believed in something.’ Sometimes I feel like we’ve gone backwards from there, honestly…

This also reminded me of another time I was talking to the same teacher. During class we had to draw a cartoon about something that bothered us. My friend couldn’t think of anything, so I told her that maybe she could do something based on how people pester her about converting to Mormonism (honestly, she doesn’t get crap as often I do, but when she does it’s frequently worse than what I deal with). We talked about how difficult it is to deal with the attitude that our views/beliefs instill in people, and my teacher commented as well. She said something along the lines of: “Well isn’t atheism a religion too?” I responded that, no, it is not. Religion is based on belief in a higher power, which I certainly do not believe in. It is more of a philosophy. That was the first (and probably the last) time I have ever felt that I taught my teacher something. It was a very strange moment.

This particular teacher happens to be my favorite teacher. Ever. She’s supportive of my writing, and is in fact doing some writing of her own when she has the time. She makes me think in ways that most people never could or likely ever will. She’s intelligent, has a great sense of humor, and has a tendency to go off on tangents that I had started to go off on mentally myself. Simply put, she is the best teacher I have ever had. I told her so in my note in her yearbook, in which I also informed her that when, not if, I get published she will certainly be in the dedications page.

~ by Rckrgrl on May 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
